The Doshas Vata, Pitta & Kapha

The three basic powers of Ayurveda

Vata, Pitta & Kapha: the key basis of individual
Ayurveda at the Parkschlösschen

The most important principle in Ayurveda is the alignment of each person to his or her individual tolerance. For this, Ayurveda draws upon the teachings of the three regulatory powers Vata, Pitta and Kapha (Doshas). In every organism they exist in an individual inherent balance. However, their harmony can be influenced and disturbed by external factors such as nutrition, climate or social environment.

At the Parkschlösschen, the individual Dosha constitution of the guest is the basis for all further Ayurvedic treatments. An important component of the consultation by our Ayurvedic practitioners is therefore to determine the inherited Dosha constitution and to identify any changes that have taken place. In this way, a personal Dosha imbalance can be recognized early on and be treated as required.

Vata, Pitta & Kapha: a brief typology

The Vata type: These people have a slight build, are artistic, sensitive and have a keen sense of perception.

The Pitta type: Pitta types are technically inventive, have a high rate of digestion and metabolism, have a muscular body build, an alert mind, are extremely ambitious, passionate and are very self-assertive.

The Kapha type: These people have heavy, robust and stable bodies, and they are very strong, have high endurance and a good long-term memory. They tend to be dependable, patient and loveable.

There is seldom a Dosha constitution characterized by only one of the three Doshas. In most people, at least two of the three Doshas prevail. If all three Doshas are equally present, one speaks of a “Tridosha constitution”.

Vata, Pitta or Kapha?
Find out your Dosha constitution with the Parkschlösschen Dosha test >>